InterviewSolution
This section includes InterviewSolutions, each offering curated multiple-choice questions to sharpen your knowledge and support exam preparation. Choose a topic below to get started.
| 51. |
In A Game Of Fours, A Bowl Is Played Out Of Order By The ‘black’ Third And The Head Is Disturbed. The Mistake Is Detected Before The Next Bowl Is Delivered And The ‘yellow’ Skip Elects To Replace The Head And Return The Bowl To Be Replayed In Its Proper Order. The 'black' Skip Calls The Umpire And Complains That The Head Has Not Been Restored Fairly To Its Previous Position. What Decision Should The Umpire Make? |
|
Answer» LAW 18 - The player, who has the right to replace the jack, a BOWL, or the head, shall be the SOLE JUDGE of the previous position. Law 18 - The player, who has the right to replace the jack, a bowl, or the head, shall be the sole judge of the previous position. |
|
| 52. |
The 'black' Player In A Game Of Singles Delivers A Bowl. It Is Then Realised That A ‘yellow’ Bowl Has Been Delivered By Mistake. The Non-offending ‘yellow' Player Hands A 'black' Bowl To The Marker Who Changes The Bowl. What Is The Correct Procedure In This Situation? |
|
Answer» Law 17 - If a PLAYER bowls an OPPONENT's BOWL by mistake it shall, after it has come to rest, be REPLACED by one of the correct colour, the replacement being made by the non-offending player in singles or by a member of the non-offending team. Law 17 - If a player bowls an opponent's bowl by mistake it shall, after it has come to rest, be replaced by one of the correct colour, the replacement being made by the non-offending player in singles or by a member of the non-offending team. |
|
| 53. |
A Player In A Game Of Singles Realizes That They Have Just Bowled The Wrong Coloured Bowl, (the Opponents Bowl). The Player Immediately Picks Up One Of Their Own Bowls And Goes To The Head To Make A Replacement. What Is The Correct Procedure In This Situation? |
|
Answer» Law 17 - If a player bowls an opponent's BOWL by MISTAKE it SHALL, after it has come to rest, be replaced by one of the correct colour, the replacement being made by the non-offending player in SINGLES or by a member of the non-offending team. Law 17 - If a player bowls an opponent's bowl by mistake it shall, after it has come to rest, be replaced by one of the correct colour, the replacement being made by the non-offending player in singles or by a member of the non-offending team. |
|
| 54. |
In A Game Of Fours It Is The Skips Turn To Bowl. It Is Then Noticed That The 'yellow' Skip Has An Extra Bowl. The 'yellow' Second Then Realises That They Had Only Played One Bowl. This Is Verified And The Umpire Is Call To Resolve The Issue.what Ruling Should The Umpire Give? |
|
Answer» Law 16 - Where a player has PLAYED out of order and the mistake is not DETECTED until after the next BOWL is BOWLED the end shall be DECLARED dead. Law 16 - Where a player has played out of order and the mistake is not detected until after the next bowl is bowled the end shall be declared dead. |
|
| 55. |
During A Game Of Fours Both Seconds Play Their Bowls, When One Of The Leads States “i've Only Played One Bowl”. This Is Verified And The Umpire Is Asked What Action Should Be Taken. What Ruling Should The Umpire Give? |
|
Answer» Law 16 - Where a player has played out of order and the MISTAKE is not detected until after the next bowl is bowled the end SHALL be declared DEAD. Law 16 - Where a player has played out of order and the mistake is not detected until after the next bowl is bowled the end shall be declared dead. |
|
| 56. |
For Breaches Of The Laws Of The Game Other Than In Law 9 (b, C, D), What Action Can The Umpire Take On The First Occasion? |
|
Answer» Law 26 (d) - Any PLAYER who FAILS to COMPLY with the Laws of the Game not provided for in Laws 9 (b), 9 (c), and 9 (d) shall be warned by the Umpire. Law 26 (d) - Any player who fails to comply with the Laws of the Game not provided for in Laws 9 (b), 9 (c), and 9 (d) shall be warned by the Umpire. |
|
| 57. |
The Second In A Triples Team Plays A Bowl Before The Lead Has Played Their Second Bowl. The Second’s Bowl Runs Into The Head And Moves The Jack. Before The Next Bowl Can Be Played Their Skip Asks The Umpire “what Should We Do Now”? What Three Options Should The Umpire Give? |
|
Answer» Law 15 - Where a player has played out of ORDER and the mistake is detected before the next bowl is bowled the opposing Skipor player in singles SHALL:
Law 15 - Where a player has played out of order and the mistake is detected before the next bowl is bowled the opposing Skipor player in singles shall: |
|
| 58. |
During A Game Of Fours The 'black' Second Plays Out Of Order And The Mistake Is Detected Before The Next Bowl Is Bowled. The Skips Ask The Umpire What Action Should Be Taken. What Three Options Should The Umpire Give The Players? |
|
Answer» Law 15 - Where a player has played out of ORDER and the mistake is detected before the next bowl is bowled the opposing Skipor player in SINGLES shall:
Law 15 - Where a player has played out of order and the mistake is detected before the next bowl is bowled the opposing Skipor player in singles shall: |
|
| 59. |
What Actions Should The Umpire Take If They Consider That A Player's Footwear Is Unsuitable? |
|
Answer» Law 14 (g) - Soles and HEELS of footwear shall be flat, smooth or fine treaded and pliable material that will not carry FOREIGN matter, or cause damage to the mat. PLAY in bare feet or jandals is not permitted. Where there is any doubt about the SUITABILITY of footwear the Controlling Authority shall be the sole judge. Law 14 (g) - Soles and heels of footwear shall be flat, smooth or fine treaded and pliable material that will not carry foreign matter, or cause damage to the mat. Play in bare feet or jandals is not permitted. Where there is any doubt about the suitability of footwear the Controlling Authority shall be the sole judge. |
|
| 60. |
An Umpire Is Inspecting A Player's Footwear. What Guidelines Set Out In The Laws Of The Game Should They Consider? |
|
Answer» Law 14 (g) - Soles and HEELS of footwear shall be flat, smooth or fine treaded and pliable MATERIAL that will not CARRY foreign matter, or cause damage to the mat. Play in bare feet or jandals is not permitted. Where there is any DOUBT about the SUITABILITY of footwear the Controlling Authority shall be the sole judge. Law 14 (g) - Soles and heels of footwear shall be flat, smooth or fine treaded and pliable material that will not carry foreign matter, or cause damage to the mat. Play in bare feet or jandals is not permitted. Where there is any doubt about the suitability of footwear the Controlling Authority shall be the sole judge. |
|
| 61. |
An Umpire Has Occasion To Speak To A Team Who Are Continuously Laughing And Chatting Whilst Their Opponents Are Attempting To Bowl. One Of The Team Suggests To The Umpire That There Is Nothing In The Laws Of The Game That Stops Them Talking To One Another. What Law Can The Umpire Quote That Directly Covers This Incident? |
|
Answer» Law 14 (c) - The PLAYERS shall be ALLOWED to bowl their BOWLS and Skips to issue their instructions without interference from their OPPONENTS, or other persons. Unnecessary speaking shall be regarded as interference under this Law. Law 14 (c) - The players shall be allowed to bowl their bowls and Skips to issue their instructions without interference from their opponents, or other persons. Unnecessary speaking shall be regarded as interference under this Law. |
|
| 62. |
When Does The Player Have Control Of The Bowling Area? |
|
Answer» Law 13 (a) - The player WHOSE TURN it is to bowl shall hold control of the playing AREA from the time the last bowl has come to REST. Law 13 (a) - The player whose turn it is to bowl shall hold control of the playing area from the time the last bowl has come to rest. |
|
| 63. |
One Of The Players In A Game Of Singles Complains To The Umpire That His Opponent Is Using Callipers As A Reflector When Examining The Head.what Ruling Should The Umpire Take? |
|
Answer» Law 12 (G) - A torch other light or REFLECTOR MAY be used at any time to assist in EXAMINING the head. This does not constitute a measure. Callipers SHALL not be used as a reflector. Law 12 (g) - A torch other light or reflector may be used at any time to assist in examining the head. This does not constitute a measure. Callipers shall not be used as a reflector. |
|
| 64. |
A Skip's Fours Team Is Playing Poorly And The Decision Is Made To Change The Team Around Before The Start Of The Next Game. Before Play Commences The Changes Are Noticed By The Opposition Who Protests To The Umpire. What Should The Umpire’s Decision Be? |
|
Answer» Law 10 (c) -The POSITION of the players SHALL not be changed during the course of the GAME but MAY be changed between games, UNLESS the rules of the event state Otherwise. Law 10 (c) -The position of the players shall not be changed during the course of the game but may be changed between games, unless the rules of the event state Otherwise. |
|
| 65. |
There Are Three Breaches In The Laws Of The Game When Bowling The Bowl, For Which The Umpire Shall Stop The Bowl And Declare The Bowl Dead. The Three Are? |
|
Answer» Law 9 (b) - A bowl, while being bowled, shall be in contact with the mat when it crosses the FRONT line and pass WHOLLY over the front the front line of the bowling area.Law 9 (c) - No PART of the bowl shall pass over either SIDE line of the bowling area while the bowl is being bowled.Law 9 (d) - The bowl shall not be bowled disc over disc. Law 9 (b) - A bowl, while being bowled, shall be in contact with the mat when it crosses the front line and pass wholly over the front the front line of the bowling area.Law 9 (c) - No part of the bowl shall pass over either side line of the bowling area while the bowl is being bowled.Law 9 (d) - The bowl shall not be bowled disc over disc. |
|
| 66. |
A Game Of Fours Is Completed With The Scores Level And A Deciding End Is Required. Beforethe Start Of This Game The 'black' Skip Instructs The Black Second And Third To Changepositions In The Team. The 'yellow' Skip Objects And Calls The Umpire.what Decision Should The Umpire Make? |
|
Answer» Law 10 (C) - The position of the players shall not be changed during the COURSE of the GAME but may be changed between games, unless the rules of the event state otherwise.Law 25 - Except in any final for which provision for drawn games should be LAID down by the Appropriate Authority and not withstanding anything contained in these Laws, where at the completion of a game the scores are level and the conditions of the game require a decision, 3 a further end shall be played. Should this end be killed the appropriate penalty, as provided in Law 27 shall be SCORED by the opposing player or team and the game shall be ended. If,however, this end is drawn, a further end shall be played. Law 10 (c) - The position of the players shall not be changed during the course of the game but may be changed between games, unless the rules of the event state otherwise.Law 25 - Except in any final for which provision for drawn games should be laid down by the Appropriate Authority and not withstanding anything contained in these Laws, where at the completion of a game the scores are level and the conditions of the game require a decision, 3 a further end shall be played. Should this end be killed the appropriate penalty, as provided in Law 27 shall be scored by the opposing player or team and the game shall be ended. If,however, this end is drawn, a further end shall be played. |
|
| 67. |
When Bowling The Jack There Are Certain Laws Of The Game That Must Be Complied Withotherwise The End Is Deemed Not To Have Commenced.four Of These Are? |
|
Answer» Law 8 (E) - An end shall be deemed not to have commenced unless the jack has been bowledin accordance with LAWS 7, 8 (a) and 8 (b) by the correct Lead or PLAYER in singles and THECONDITIONS of Laws 11 (d) and 13 (b) have been complied with. Law 8 (e) - An end shall be deemed not to have commenced unless the jack has been bowledin accordance with Laws 7, 8 (a) and 8 (b) by the correct Lead or player in singles and theconditions of Laws 11 (d) and 13 (b) have been complied with. |
|
| 68. |
When Is A Bowl Or Jack Deemed To Have Been Bowled? |
|
Answer» Law 7 - Bowling is the action of rolling a BOWL or JACK along the mat. A bowl or jack isdeemed to have been BOWLED when it has both left the hand and PASSED wholly beyond thefront line of the bowling area. Law 7 - Bowling is the action of rolling a bowl or jack along the mat. A bowl or jack isdeemed to have been bowled when it has both left the hand and passed wholly beyond thefront line of the bowling area. |
|
| 69. |
In The Game Of Singles, The Jack Is Bowled In Accordance With The Laws Of The Game Except Itis Bowled By The Opposing Player. Before It Can Be Re-bowled By The Correct Player The Timesignal Sounds. The Umpire Is Asked “what Happens Now”?what Should The Umpire Tell The Players? |
|
Answer» Law 6C - Should the JACK be bowled in accordance with Laws 7, 8 (b), 11 (d) and 13 (b), by anincorrect player from either TEAM, or by the opposing player in SINGLES, and the finishing timesignal sounds; the jack SHALL be returned and bowled by the correct player and the endplayed. Law 6C - Should the jack be bowled in accordance with Laws 7, 8 (b), 11 (d) and 13 (b), by anincorrect player from either team, or by the opposing player in singles, and the finishing timesignal sounds; the jack shall be returned and bowled by the correct player and the endplayed. |
|
| 70. |
In A Game Of Fours, The Jack Has Been Bowled In Accordance With The Laws Of The Gameexcept That It Was Bowled By The Incorrect Lead. One Of The Skips Returns The Jack To Bebowled By The Correct Lead, But Before It Can Be Re-bowled The Time Signal Sounds For Theend Of The Game. You, The Umpire, Have Been Asked “what Do We Do Now”?what Is Your Reply? |
|
Answer» Law 6C - Should the JACK be bowled in accordance with Laws 7, 8 (b), 11 (d) and 13 (b), by an incorrect PLAYER from EITHER team, or by the opposing player in singles, and the finishing time signal sounds; the jack shall be returned and bowled by the correct player and the end PLAYED. Law 6C - Should the jack be bowled in accordance with Laws 7, 8 (b), 11 (d) and 13 (b), by an incorrect player from either team, or by the opposing player in singles, and the finishing time signal sounds; the jack shall be returned and bowled by the correct player and the end played. |
|